Jason Shepherd


Attorney Jason Shepherd has held numerous positions in the Republican Party before being elected Chairman of Cobb County on March 11, 2017. He has previously served as a Vice-Chairman of the Georgia Republican Party, Chairman of the 11th Congressional District Republican Committee, and General Counsel of the Young Republican National Federation. He received his AB in political science from the University of Georgia, his P.G.Dip. in Global Business from the University of Oxford, and his J.D. from Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School. Shepherd is a 2018 graduate of Leadership Cobb, a member of the Board of Directors for the Center for Family Resources, and a member of the Federalist Society Atlanta Lawyers Chapter. He is married to Manuela, and they have two children. or (C) 770.265.5268

1st Vice Chairman


Kim Sherk


Kim Sherk has served in numerous positions in the Republican Party and the Republican Women. She is currently the President of the Cobb County Republican Women’s Club. Before being elected 1st Vice-Chairman, she served as Political Director and Secretary for the Cobb County Republican Party.  She is a graduate of Republican Leadership Georgia and a member of the 2019 class of Leadership Cobb. She and her husband Paul live in Marietta with their children.



Vice-Chairman of Party and Grassroots Development


Scott Sweeney


Scott Sweeney is a business adviser and strategist. Before being elected Vice-Chairman, Scott served as a member of the Cobb County School Board from 2011-2019. 

Scott has served as a board or committee member on national, state and local non-profit organizations. He is a frequent speaker at industry and education events, and an author of articles for industry publications and education within the Cobb County community. Scott earned his BA in Economics from UCLA. He and his wife Sandy reside in East Cobb with their two children.

Vice-Chairman of Communications

Nathaniel Darnell

Nathaniel Darnell has lived in Cobb County since 1988. Having worked as a legislative aide for eight legislative sessions since 1996 at the Georgia State Capitol in Atlanta for eight Republican state legislators in both the House and Senate, he graduated from Oak Brook College of Law with his juris doctorate in 2008. Nathaniel paid his way through law school working in graphics design and video production. He founded two visual media production companies, and served as the manager for five years for a publishing house’s video department in Texas.

Nathaniel formerly served as the Vice Chair of Communications for the 11th Congressional District Republican Committee, and he presently serves as the Chairman of the Cobb County Republican Assembly. He lives in Powder Springs and works as a financial advisor with Bankers Life Securities, helping people prepare for retirement and manage their retirement, including their insurance and investments.

Vice-Chairman of Membership


Pamela Alayon


Pamela Alayon is a native of New York and of Puerto Rican heritage.

Pam became involved in politics through her support of President Donald Trump’s 2016 elections and quickly rose through the ranks of the Cobb County Republican Party. She and her husband live in Marietta with their 13-year-old daughter.



John Hightower

John Hightower has been a long time resident of Marietta GA and is originally from St. Simons Island Ga. He obtained his BBA from The University of Georgia and his Masters in Finance from Oglethorpe University. Currently, John is a Senior Manager with FedEx Services working with Executives from large Global companies helping them develop their supply chain strategies and solutions. John is married to  Christie and has one daughter. The Hightowers are passionate about travelling abroad and hiking.



Jim Boyd



Jim Boyd was the owner of a Cobb County Small Business for 10 years. Before that, he spent 25 years in Sales and Marketing in the Telecommunication Industry. 

He has lived and paid taxes in Cobb County for 30 years and supported and campaigned for Republican nominees his entire life. Jim holds a BS Degree in Manufacturing Technology from University of Memphis and is a member of Beautiful Savior Lutheran Church.



Robert “Bud” Urich


 Robert “Bud” Urich is the Assistant-Treasurer of the Cobb County Republican Party.  Bud has been an active participant in the Georgia Tea Party and Franklin Round Table, as well as the 2016 Trump campaign and numerous conservative causes. He is a US military veteran. 

House District Chairs

Lisa Adkins – HD 34

Elaine Smyda- HD 35

Harvey “Gene” Lewis – HD 36

Rose Wing – HD 37

John Delves – HD 38

Jim Hickey – HD 39

Taryn Bowman – HD 40

DeAnna Harris – HD 41

Beth Pollard – HD 42

Bill Hatley – HD 43

Ray Krebs – HD 44

Field Searcy – HD 45

Shelia Brower – HD 46

Karen Horne – HD 53

Madgie Nicolas – HD 61

Appointed Officers

Tonya Boga – Co-General Counsel

Neera Bahl – Co-General Counsel, Appointee to the Board of Elections

Chuck Clay – Counsel Emeritus

Scott Johnson – Parliamentarian

Tori Thompson  – Executive Director (2019-2021)

Nathaniel Darnell – Past Executive Director (2017-2019)

Immediate Past Chair (2015-2016)

Rose Wing